top of page

Habit Analysis

"Watch your thoughts, they become words; watch your words, they become actions; watch your actions, they become habits; watch your habits, they become character; watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.” Frank Outlaw

Our thoughts become actions, and our actions become habits. Overtime, the habits we’ve grown accustomed to become who we are, and determine the health of our bodies, minds, and relationships. While reflecting on my own habits, I have pinpointed specific habits I would like to change, and others that are helpful in fostering success and happiness in my life. Listed below are several habits that I have been reflecting upon these past two weeks.

  • Since having my son, Rowan, I have developed many new habits that are positive. Every morning as he awakens, my husband and I greet him and sing to him. It is a habit that connects us all at the beginning of the day. I love that we start our day together, sharing in songs and smiles. If Rowan wakes up without his father nearby, I will call for him to come join us in our morning habit.

Cue- Rowan wakes up

Habit- My husband and I greet and sing to him

Reward- The feeling of belonging and togetherness

  • When I come home at the end of the day, I will often kick my shoes off. This habit drives my husband crazy because my shoes will be scattered all over the house by the end of the week. He said this would be the one habit that he would like me to change. I think with very little effort, I can correct this bad habit. When I walk in the house, I will take my shoes off immediately, and experience the same reward (the relaxing feeling of taking my tight shoes off).

Cue- Get home/my feet hurt

Habit- Take my shoes off anywhere in the house

Reward- It feels good, “ahhhhh”

  • One positive habit I do is greet my students with a smile at the beginning of the day. Even if I am feeling tired or sick, I start the day off with greetings and smiles. This starts the school day in a positive way, and sends the message that I care about my students, and I am going to start every day with a good attitude.

Cue- Students arrive at the school

Habit- Greetings and smiles

Reward- Positive responses from students, a good feeling that I am starting my day off in a positive way

  • One of my siblings is a source of frustration and anger for me. Whenever she fails to meet my expectations, or do her part, I become angry and begin complaining. The cue is her disappointing behavior, then I complain to my spouse, and after venting my feelings, I feel understood. Nothing changes, and my complaining is not productive. I would like to change this habit. Instead of complaining, I need to find a replacement behavior. Next time my sister disappoints me, I will go on a walk to relax and calm down.

Cue- disappointing behavior from sister

Habit- Complaining

Reward- Feeling justified and understood, “I’m right!”

  • My evenings are filled with routine. I get home, my husband or I cook an easy dinner, we eat together, I take a bath with my baby, and then we get into bed. I am very happy with my evening routine, but would like to alter my bedtime routine to promote a better night’s sleep. I would like to begin cooking healthier dinners also. The habit I would not change is bathtime with my baby. Rowan loves baths, so this is one of my favorite times too. I spend all day at work, so I do not get to play with him and interact with him much during the week. During bath time I get to have fun with him, sing songs, watch him play, and enjoy connecting with him.

Cue- After baby eats, he is messy and sticky

Habit- Bath time

Reward- Time connecting with my happy baby, clean baby

  • I take a cup or water bottle to school everyday, but I am in the habit of leaving the cups and bottles of water in my car or in my classroom. It isn’t until I have a pile of bottles in my car, or classroom, that I gather them up and bring them back into the house to be cleaned.

Cue- Leaving the house

Habit- bringing a cup/bottle of water and leaving it

Reward- Not sure...delaying cleaning dishes, maybe?

  • I have developed a healthy skin-care routine that is full of good habits. One of the healthiest things I do for my skin is wash my face morning and night, and apply sunscreen every morning and moisturizer every night. Wearing sunscreen was a healthy habit mentioned in our readings.

Cue- Wash and dry face

Habit- Put sunscreen on

Reward- Skin feels healthy, soft, and I like the smell!

After reading chapters from The Power of Habit, I have begun to reflect on the many habits in my life. I am going to begin making an effort to change the destructive, unhealthy habits in my life and replacing them with new ones. I will do this by recognizing the cues, replacing the behaviors, and using the rewards to help develop new better habits. I have also gained more of an understanding for the habits that other people have developed. Habit loops become apart of us, and our brains go on autopilot when we encounter a cue. This can make it difficult to break a long-held habit. Our brains are used to running a certain sequence of behaviors, and we are addicted to the rewards that result.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page